1. Home
  2. /
  3. Media
  4. /
  5. Stellar entry list for 2010 Leacock Medal

Stellar entry list for 2010 Leacock Medal

Now that entries have closed for the 2010 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour, I decided to check out the list. Wow! Sixty-one books entered this year. That’s a larger field than usual. It may well be the largest field since the award was established in 1947. There are some really big names in the running this year, including three-time winners Stuart McLean and Arthur Black, two-time winner Will Ferguson, 2009 Leacock finalist William Deverell, CODCO founder Greg Malone, CBC Radio personality Jonathan Goldstein, National Post gossip columnist Shinan Govani, and the very funny travel writer Jane Christmas. I would not want to be deciding from among these hilarious authors.

The next step is the unveiling of the short list, usually in late March. Then, the winner is announced, usually in late April at a wonderful luncheon in Swanmore Hall in Orillia, just next door to Stephen Leacock’s home. Time to start reading some of these great and funny books!

Trust me. Winning this medal can change your life:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *